9/1/2021: On September 1, 2021, the first cohort of seven U.S. higher education institutions join University of Alabama at Birmingham in adopting the Charter on Sept. 1 , 2021: Northern Illinois UniversityUniversity at Albany, State University of New YorkUniversity of California, BerkeleyUniversity of California, IrvineUniversity of MichiganUniversity of North Florida; and Western Washington University.

“The momentum building among U.S. universities around advancing the Okanagan Charter comes at a critical time. Higher-education settings are uniquely positioned to be agents of change within campus communities and in broader society in the face of simultaneous planetary, health and social crises. The Okanagan Charter provides the shared vision and call to action for us to mobilize and become health-promoting campuses and networks.”

– Matt Dolf, Ph.D., co-chair of the International Health Promoting Universities and Colleges Steering Group and chair of the Canadian Health Promoting Campuses Network


Comments are closed